Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Coca-Cola 600 NASCAR Weekend Primer: TV Schedule, Race Info, and More

Let us know what you think

Join the conversation on socials

Circle B Diecast Block

What’s Happening?

The NASCAR Cup Series heads to Charlotte Motor Speedway this weekend for the 65th running of NASCAR’s longest race, the Coca-Cola 600. Here is everything you need to know about one of NASCAR’s Crown Jewel events.

  • This weekend features all three NASCAR National Touring Series and marks the start of the second half of the Cup Series regular season. The Xfinity Series returns after a week off, while the Truck Series is set for its fourth of five races in consecutive weeks. The ARCA Menards Series is also here.
  • Charlotte Motor Speedway was opened in 1960 by SMI founder Bruton Smith. The track, originally designed by Curtis Turner, became the archetype for traditional NASCAR intermediate tracks. The first race held at the track was the inaugural Coca-Cola 600, originally called the World 600.
  • Fans are very excited about this race weekend. Charlotte is one of the most popular tracks with the Next-Gen car, and the Coca-Cola 600 has been a banger both years.

Weekend Schedule (All Times ET)

Friday, May 24th: Craftsman Truck Series RACE

  • 2:00-3:30 PM – Truck Series Practice/Qualifying on FS1
  • 3:30-5:00 PM – Xfinity Series Practice/Qualifying on FS1
  • ~5:00-6:00 PM – NASCAR Race Hub Weekend Edition on FS1
  • 6:00 PM – ARCA Menards Series General Tire 150 on FS1
  • ~8:00-8:30 PM – NASCAR RaceDay on FS1
  • 8:30 PM – Truck Series North Carolina Education Lottery 150 on FS1

Saturday, May 25th: Xfinity Series RACE

  • 12:30-1:00 PM – NASCAR RaceDay on FOX
  • 1:00 PM – Xfinity Series BetMGM 300 on FOX
  • 5:00-7:00 PM – Cup Series Practice and Qualifying on FS1

Sunday, May 26th: Cup Series RACE

  • 4:30-5:30 PM – NASCAR RaceDay on FS1
  • 5:30-6:00 PM – NASCAR RadeDay on FOX
  • 6:00 PM – Coca-Cola 600 on FOX

Race Facts

Charlotte Motor Speedway

  • Year Built: 1960
  • Length: 1.5 Miles
  • Shape: Quad-Oval
  • Banking: 24 Degrees in Turns; 5 Degrees on Straightaways
  • Surface: Asphalt
  • Lights?: Yes
  • Rain Tires?: No

Truck Series

  • Race Length: 134 Laps (201 Miles)
  • Stages: 30 Laps (Stage 1 and 2), 174 Laps (Stage 3)
  • 2023 Winner: Ben Rhodes
  • Former Winners in the Field: Matt Crafton (2 Wins) and Ben Rhodes

Xfinity Series

  • Race Length: 200 Laps (300 Miles)
  • Stages: 45 Laps (Stage 1 and 2), 110 Laps (Stage 3)
  • 2023 Winner: Justin Allgaier
  • Former Winners in the Field: Justin Allgaier

Cup Series

  • Race Length: 400 Laps (600 MIles)
  • Stages: 100 Laps (All 4 Stages)
  • 2023 Winner: Ryan Blaney
  • Former Winners in the Field: Jimmie Johnso (8 Wins), Martin Truex Jr. (3 Wins), Brad Keselowski (2 Wins), Kyle Larson, Ryan Blaney, Denny Hamlin, Chase Elliott, Austin Dillon, Kyle Busch, and Joey Logano.

Kyle Larson’s Double

Kyle Larson will become the first driver in 10 years to attempt “The Double.” He qualified 5th for the Indianapolis 500, a race scheduled to go green at 12:45 PM ET on Sunday. Larson will then fly to Charlotte for the Coca-Cola 600, scheduled to start at 6:00 PM.

Larson is expected to have enough time to complete all on-track activity at both tracks this week. However, if the weekend schedule is altered, Tony Kanaan is on standby as a relief driver for Larson at Indy. There is no word yet on the plan if Larson is late at Charlotte.

Entry Lists

ARCA Menards Series

The ARCA Menards Series has 30 cars entered for Friday night. Notable entrants include Tanner Gray (No. 18), Dean Thompson (No. 20), Connor Mosack (No. 28), Lawless Alan (No. 33), and Carson Kvapil (No. 82). Gray, Thompson, Mosack, and Alan will all compete in the Truck Series race immediate following. Thompson will also compete in the Xfinity Series race on Saturday.

Full Entry List HERE

Truck Series

On Friday night, 38 Trucks were entered for 36 spots in the field, meaning 2 trucks will go home. Notable entrants include Brett Moffitt (No. 1), Connor Mosack (No. 7). Jennifer Jo Cobb (No. 10), Memphis Villarreal (No. 20), Mason Maggion (No. 21), Keith McGee (No. 22), Jeffrey Earnhardt (No. 67), and Justin Carroll (No. 90).

Xfinity Series

A total of 38 cars are entered for 40 spots, meaning 2 cars will go home. Notable entries include Chase Elliott (No. 17), Taylor Gray (No. 19), Ty Gibbs (No. 20), Dean Thompson (No. 26), Blaine Perkins (No. 29), Kyle Busch (No. 33), Akinori Ogata (No. 35), Natalie Decker (No. 92), and Noah Gragson (No. 30). The No. 74 car owned by Mike Harmon Racing is currently TBA.

Cup Series

A total of 40 cars are entered for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600, meaning no drivers will go home, and the Cup Series will have a full field for the first time since the Daytona 500. Kaz Grala (No. 15) and Shane Van Gisbergen (No. 16) are racing the All-Star cars this week. The confirmed open entries are J.J. Yeley (No. 44), Ty Dillon (No. 50), B.J. McLeod (No. 66), and Jimmie Johnson (No. 84).

What to Watch For

ARCA Menards Series

The ARCA Menards Series kicks off the weekend on Friday evening. Jesse Love dominated the 2023 race which featured full-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series drivers Dean Thompson, Taylor Gray, and Grant Enfinger finishing 2nd, 3rd, and 4th. Conner Mosack and Taylor Gray battled for the win in the series lone intermediate track race of the year so far at Kansas, with Mosack taking the win.

Truck Series

Ben Rhodes took home his only win of the year in 2023 at Charlotte, beating Corey Heim, who led the most laps. Heim is the defending 1.5-mile track winner in the series, having won at Kansas earlier this month. Rajah Caruth should also be a factor, as he won the other traditional intermediate track race at Las Vegas back in March.

Xfinity Series

Weather delays muddled the Xfinity Series at Charlotte in 2023, with the race eventually finishing on Monday, following the Coca-Cola 600. Justin Allgaier pulled away late to win by almost 8 seconds for JRM, and JRM just so happened to win the last 1.5 mile track race at Texas. This race also features 2 full-time Cup Series guys on the entry list with Chase Elliott driving for Hendrick Motorsports and Noah Gragson for Rette Jones Racing.

Cup Series

The 2023 Coca-Cola 600 was delayed a day due to weather, but that didn’t spoil Ryan Blaney’s parade. He won the race to snap a 59-race losing streak. Hendrick Motorsports has been the team to beat on 1.5-mile tracks this year, with Kyle Larson winning in Las Vegas and Kansas, and Chase Elliott winning in Texas. However, Ford showed some muscle at Kansas with Chris Buescher finishing 2nd by only 0.001 seconds.

This article will be updated as entry lists are released and other information about the race is unveiled.

The Daily Downforce is Hiring
Circle B Diecast Block

Let us know what you think

Join the conversation on socials

Share this:

Picture of Joshua Lipowski

Joshua Lipowski

All Posts