5 Things We Will Never See Again in NASCAR

Article Contents

Candy Dynamics Block
Pristine Auction Block

In This Article

Matt Smith

Matt Smith

All Posts
Candy Dynamics Block

Let us know what you think

Join the conversation on socials

Pristine Auction Desktop
Toxic Waste Diecast Block Mobile

NASCAR is celebrating it’s 75th anniversary this season. In those 75 years, we have seen things that could be classified as once in a lifetime moments. Some happened recently, others happened in the early years.

Today, we look at 5 things that we believe will never happen again. Where were you when some of these happened?

Ross Chastain Hail Melon

You knew this was coming, and how fitting to mention this on Martinsville weekend. I’m sure if you watched the broadcast, you have seen this move a million times. It truly was a once in a lifetime, never before seen move. With a turn left in the fall Martinsville race, Chastain was 2 points behind Hamlin for the final spot in the Final 4.

Chastain pulled the video game move, and floored it, riding the wall in turns 3 and 4, making it stick, and picking up the points needed to transfer to the Final 4. NASCAR in the offseason put a rule in place to eliminate this move, so we will certainly not see it ever again.

Jimmie Johnson wins 5th straight Championship

From 2006 to 2010, NASCAR saw only one champion. Jimmie Johnson broke Cale Yarborough’s then record 3 straight championships. He didn’t stop there, winning another two. Especially in the Playoff era, it isn’t feasible to have another driver win five in a row, and no driver has gone back to back since Johnson.

Richard Petty’s 200 Cup series wins

The King, he got his name for a reason. Richard Petty is by far the winningest driver in the sports history on the Cup side, with second place having 105 wins. With the Next Gen car, and the plethora of new and different winners, we don’t see there ever being another 200 time winner.

Another seven time champion

Something two of our record holders share? Seven Cup series Championships. Jimmie Johnson accomplished the feat in 2016, winning his lone Championship in the Playoff elimination era.

With this new playoff system, another driver accomplishing seven championships is far off. Kyle Busch and Joey Logano are the only two active driver with multiple championships at two a piece.

Kyle Busch’s total win count

While Richard Petty is the winningest driver in Cup series history, Kyle Busch has more NASCAR wins than anyone.

With 226 total wins across all 3 series, 61 Cup wins, 102 Xfinity wins, and 63 Truck series wins, and counting. No other driver will beat Kyle Busch’s win total.

Lectric eBikes Desktop

Share this:

Matt Smith

Matt Smith

All Posts

Get Silly Season Alerts

Stay up to speed on all the latest silly season news delivered right to your inbox.