What’s Happening?

It’s not only Silly Season for NASCAR drivers, but NASCAR spotters as well. NASCAR spotters Josh Williams, Eddie D’Hondt, and Tim Fedewa will all be moving on to new drivers in 2024. It seems the movement is not done according to Freddie Kraft, who estimates 13 spotter changes for 2024.

You Need to Know:

  • The spotter movement started over the first weekend of December when Eddie D’Hondt announced he would not spot for Chase Elliott in 2024. From there, Josh Williams (spotter for Ryan Blaney) and Tim Fedewa (spotter for Kevin Harvick) said they would be moving on for 2024.
  • Driver/spotter chemistry is vital to a driver’s success, especially on superspeedways. Coincidentally, the first points race of 2024 is the Daytona 500, a superspeedway race.
  • Fans are very curious to see where spotters will end up. Some are just curious to see who goes where, while others are hoping that certain spotters end up with other drivers.

New Spotters in New Places

Tim Fedewa to Ryan Blaney

Bob Pockrass reported that Tim Fedewa, the former spotter for Kevin Harvick, will take over for Josh Williams as Ryan Blaney’s spotter for 2024. Fedewa is a former driver with 333 career Xfinity Series starts and 4 career Xfinity Series wins. He has previously spotted in the Cup Series for A.J. Allmendinger, Scott Speed, Marcos Ambrose, and, since 2014, Kevin Harvick.

Tyler Green to Carson Hocevar

Tyler Green spotted for Harrison Burton in the Cup Series in 2022 and 2023, but according to his Twitter bio, he is now the spotter for Carson Hocevar in the NASCAR Cup Series for Spire Motorsport. Green has also spotted for Hocevar in the lower series, and he even formerly spotted for Kurt Busch.

Andy Houston to Noah Gragson

SHR continues their spotter shuffle with Andy Houston moving from Ryan Preece and the #41 to Noah Gragson and the #10. Houston is a former driver who has three career wins in the Craftsman Truck Series. He spotted for Austin Dillon throughout the 2010s as Dillon moved up through the ranks before moving to SHR in 2020. Joel Edmonds spotted for the #10 car in 2023 before announcing he would be scaling back starting in 2024.

Eddit DHondt to Josh Berry

Eddie D’Hondt announced during the offseason that he was moving on from Chase Elliott and the 9 team. He had been with the team since 2012 when Jeff Gordon was still racing. Now, he replaces Tim Fedewa at #4 car at Stewart-Haas Racing for Josh Berry.

Tony Raines to Ryan Preece

Tony Raines will also be switching places in 2024. He replaces Andy Houston as the spotter for Ryan Preece in the #41 car. Raines is a former Cup Series driver who spotted for Kurt Busch during his 2017 Daytona 500 win. Raines spent 2023 with Brett Moffitt in the Xfinity Series.

Josh Williams to Zane Smith

Josh Williams announced on New Years Day that he would be moving on to Trackhouse/Spire to spot for Zane Smith in 2024. Williams worked with Smith in the Truck Series in 2023, and Williams spotted Blaney to a Cup Series Championship in 2023.

Trey Poole to Chase Elliott

Chase Elliott’s new spotter will be his cousin, Trey Poole. Poole replaces longtime spotter Eddie D’Hondt for 2024. While never a full-time primary spotter, Poole spotted for Elliott on road courses, and he was Elliott’s interim spotter in 2021.

Michael Fisher to Michael McDowell

Michael Fisher moves from spotting for Brad Keselowski on road courses to spotting for Michael McDowell full-time in 2024. McDowell enjoyed his best Cup Seris season in 2023 as a win at Indianapolis got him into the Playoffs. He nearly pointed his way into the Playoffs as well.

Coleman Pressley to Xfinity Series Kaulig Racing #16

Kaulig Racing announced their spotter lineup on January 12th, and the biggest change is Coleman Pressley. Pressley will move from the Cup Series with Joey Logano to working in the Xfinity Series with Kaulig Racing and A.J. Allmendinger.

Frank Deiny Jr. to SVG and Daniel Hemric

Frank Seiny Jr. spent 2023 with A.J. Allmendinger and the #16 car at Kaulig. In 2024, he will be pulling double duty every weekend as he works with SVG in the Xfinity Series and Daniel Hemric in the Cup Series.

Joe White to Josh Williams and Kaulig #16 (Cup)

Joe White has experience in the Cup Series, as he last spotted for Chase Briscoe and Stewart-Haas Racing. He will work with Josh Williams and the #11 team along with the Kaulig Racing Cup Series “All-Star Car”.

Brent Wentz to Rick Ware Racing #15

Brent Wentz joins Rick Ware Racing to spot for the #15 car in 2024. The #15 will feature Kaz Grala for 25 races and Cody Ware for a few races as well. This comes alongside Steve Barkdoll leaving Rick Ware Racing.

Jason Jarrett to Harrison Burton

With Tyler Green moving on to spot for Carson Hocevar at Spire Motorsports, Jason Jarrett, son of NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Jarrett, will now spot for Harrison Burton in the Cup Series according to the Clash team rosters. Jarrett is a former driver who won 2 races in the ARCA Menards Series in 114 starts between 2000 and 2005. He spent 2023 with Justin Haley at Kaulig Racing.

Chris Osborne to Justin Haley

Justin Haley was on the lookout for a new spotter after switching teams and Steve Barkdoll moving on from RWR in the offseason. His new spotter for 2024 will be Chris Osborne according to the Clash team rosters. Osborne has been down the block a time or two with drivers like Matt Kenseth, Daniel Suarez, and Daniel Hemric.

Spotter Free Agents

Steve Barkdoll

Steve Barkdoll announced on Twitter that Rick Ware Racing is letting him go for 2024. Barkdoll is a spotting veteran who recently worked with drivers such as Daniel Suarez and Michael McDowell.

Joel Edmonds

Joel Edmonds will move on to being a part-time spotter in 2024. It’s possible he could join Aric Almirola in the Xfinity Series in 2024 as Almirola runs part-time.

Open Spotter Spaces

This post will be updated as more spotters announce their 2024 plans.