Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Fans Debate: 75 Greatest Driver List Snubs

Article Contents

The Daily Downforce is Hiring Writers

In This Article

Picture of Joshua Lipowski

Joshua Lipowski

All Posts

Let us know what you think

Join the conversation on socials

In conjunction with NASCAR’s 75th anniversary, NASCAR has expanded their original 50 Greatest Drivers list that was released in 1998, NASCAR’s 50th anniversary, to 75. Thus far, 23 candidates have been added to the list with two spots remaining. Now with the list complete, NASCAR Reddit went through who they feel are the snubs on NASCAR’s 75 Greatest Drivers list.

In the Stands

TimmyHillFan believes no Cup Series drivers got snubbed, but maybe some drivers with history in the lower series got snubbed.

Immediate_Lie7810 with his list of snubs. Crafton and Sprague are three-time Truck Series champions. Coby has won six modified championships. Bonsignore is a three-time modified champion. Elder won two Cup Series races and six ARCA Menards Series West championships.

AfroMidgets feel Sprague is more worthy than Crafton.

GodModeBasketball adds Johnny Benson, Mike Skinner, and Frank Kimmel (Since NASCAR now owns ARCA). Benson is a Cup Series winner along with winning the 1995 Xfinity Series Championship and the 2008 Truck Series Championship. Skinner won the first Truck Series Championship in 1995. Kimmel is a 10-time ARCA Menards Series Champion, including 8 in a row from 2000-2007.

lokyt points out Todd Bodine as a 75 greatest drivers snub.

BOBANSHMASH51 points out Dave Marcis. Marcis is a five-time Cup Series winner with 883 career starts, the fourth most starts in NASCAR history.

Blazethesol52 adds Jim Paschal. Paschal won 25 Cup Series races back in NASCAR’s early years.

DeNomoloss brings up The White Knight Dick Trickle. Despite no Cup Series wins, Trickle has a tremendous amount of success in weekly racing series.

MeadowPondPosse adds Ted Christopher. Christopher is the 2008 Modified Champion, and a 42 time winner in the series.

quwertzi added in Bill Rexford. Rexford is the youngest Cup Series champion, winning it at 23 years old in 1950.

furrynoy96 adds Xfinity Series star Justin Allgaier. Allgaier has won 19 career Xfinity Series races in 11 full-time seasons.

71077345p added in Matt Hirschman. Hirschman has won five modified series races.

jcaccountingeducator adds in Austin Dillon because of winning championships in two national touring series.

daviswarren1 adds Phillip Morris and Lee Pulliam. Morris is a five-time Whelen All-American Series Champion. Pulliam has won four championships in that series.

There is only so much room with 75 guys on the list. Should NASCAR maybe put together a list that particularly remembers drivers in the lower series?

Share this:

Picture of Joshua Lipowski

Joshua Lipowski

All Posts